top of page

Wicks that Whisper: We Are Back!

Updated: Jun 7, 2021

We are back!


It’s been a while and we wanted to give you a little update on what we’ve been up to.

We’ve all officially finished our degrees and have been for the past month, allowing us to start the press back up after our hiatus. As of now, we’re working on a Summer collection which is set to be released by the end of August. Both us and our authors are really excited about this new release and are steadily working on it. But that’s not all! As we’re moving forward, we have several things planned which should be released shortly, but we won’t spoil the surprise just yet. Instead, please keep an eye out on the fun seasonal releases we’ll be dropping for each manuscript leading up to the final release in August.


As for the future of the press, we’re all still committed to its success. However, each of us is in a transformative part of our lives causing our schedule and output to experience changes over time as we figure out our new system of working. An excellent example of this would be our weekly blog series. Though we love to take you behind the scenes to share and discuss what it is we do, they do take up a lot of time to write and edit. As such, we will be slowing down on their publications to allow us more time to prep, edit, and create new chapbooks for you.

Since we’re unable to use our grad quotes as normal we wanted to share them with you all.


Whispering Wick’s grad quotes for the Creative Writing & Publishing class of 2021


“Had you asked me during my first year if I knew where I wanted to end up, I couldn’t have answered the question. But I couldn’t be happier with where I am right here and now. Being an editor isn’t a job to me, it’s every moment of my life and it’s an honour to be one.”

– Nate


“The past four years have been anything but easy, but that doesn't mean they weren't rewarding. I've made some amazing connections and had the opportunity to really elevate my writing. I wouldn't change it for a thing!”

– Faizal

“When I first started my course, it was made very clear that I would not be famous, I’d make chicken scratch for money, and I’d most likely develop depression or alcoholism. After four long years of the course, I can proudly say I’m not an alcoholic and in those four years I have also found some poor sods in the same boat. Some might even call these sods friends.”

– David


“Whenever someone asks me if they can tell me a story, my answer is always, always yes.”

– Grace


“CWP was an unpredictable, life-changing journey. I wanted to give up many times but this group of talented people in Whispering Wick I’ve surrounded myself with have been instrumental in my success and I’m forever grateful for their place in my life.”

– Rebecca


“I came into the program wanting to at least be a fiction writer, but coming out I’m way more than that. I was not expecting to able to call myself a poet so proudly, to actually be good at editing, and I really, really didn’t think I would be able to call myself a publisher. What a ridiculous thought to have. I could not have even imagined it because it felt too out of reach. Yet here I am.”

– Tamara

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page